Separation Of Powers

Andrew Klassen

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingEntry for encyclopedia/dictionarypeer-review


The separation of powers is usually understood as a constitutional doctrine that separates government into autonomous institutions responsible for performing distinct functions. The most common system separates government into legislative, executive, and judicial branches. According to this model, the legislative power creates laws, the executive power enforces laws, and the judicial power interprets laws. Each branch theoretically performs only its own function, and the individuals working within each branch should not concurrently work in another branch. The main justification for separating powers between independent branches is to prevent any individual or group from accumulating excessive power and ruling tyrannically.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationEncyclopedia of Power
EditorsKeith Dowding
PublisherSAGE Publications Ltd
Number of pages2
ISBN (Electronic)9781412994088
ISBN (Print)9781412927482
Publication statusPublished - 7 Apr 2011
Externally publishedYes


Dive into the research topics of 'Separation Of Powers'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this